First of all, we would like to thank our executive sponsors, Dr. Volkmar Denner (Chairman, Bosch Group) and Mr. Anand Mahindra (Chairman, Mahindra Group), as well as Dr. Rainer Kallenbach (CEO, Bosch Software Innovations) and CP Gurnani (CEO, Tech Mahindra).

Many thanks also to our Keynote Contributors, including Peter Coffee (Salesforce), Wim Elfrink (CISCO), Jim Heppelmann (PTC), Mike Olson (Cloudera), and Alex Sinclair (GSMA).

A big “Thank You” goes to all of the Enterprise IoT Community Members who are listed at the beginning of the book – it has been fun working with you, and we really appreciate the long days and nights and the challenging discussions! Special thanks is due to Thomas Stoffel from Siemens for kicking things off.

We spend a lot of time talking with technology and industry experts. Your input was invaluable! Many thanks to Alexander Grohmann (Kärcher), Allen Prohithis (, Andre Nitzschmann (Fraunhofer IIS), Andres Rosello (PTC), Arthur Viegers (MongoDB), Berhard Schäfer (m3), Bernard Kryszak, Bernd Gruber (, Brian Hayes (Salesforce), Brian Philippi (NI), Brian Westcott (Purfresh), Christian Czauderna (Currenta), Christoph Schillo (Peiker), Christopher Dziekan (Pentaho), Enrique Gutierrez (Peiker), Felix Worthmann (IoT Lab @ HSG), Ian Skerrett (Eclipse Foundation), James Dixon (Pentaho), James Smith (NI), Jason Garbis (RSA), Joe Drumgoole (MongoDB), Joe Salvo (GE), Kai Millarg (Intellion), Laurenz Kirchner (mm1), Marc Jones (Aeris), Marc Sauter (Vodafone), Markus Weinberger (IoT Lab @ HSG), Michael Ganser (Cisco), Michael Lee (IIC), Micheal Jungmann (WJW), Mike Prince (Vodafone), Mitko Vasilev (Cisco), Nico Neufeld (CERN), Nigel Chadwick (Stream Technologies), Peter Fürst (five i), Rainer Eschrich (Oracle), Richard Soley (IIC), Rick Bullotta (PTC), Robin Smith (Oracle), Roman Wambacher (WJW), Sean O’Sullivan (, Sebastien Boria (Airbus), Stefanie Fischer (SmartFactory-KL), Stella Löffler (mm1), Stephan Otto (Fraunhofer IIS), Stephen Blackburn (Aeris), Sverre Jarp (CERN), Ted Willke (Intel), Torsten Winterberg (Opitz), and Volker Scholz (mm1). Many thanks also to Prof. Fleisch (ITEM-HSG), Prof. Zarnekow (TU Berlin) and Prof. Zühlke (University of Kaiserslautern).

From Machina Research, we would like to thank Emil Berthelsen, Jeremy Green and Matt Hatton.

From Tech Mahindra, we would like to thank Asit Goel, Devashish Bhatt and Narayanan Ramanathan.

From Bosch Software Innovations, we would like to thank Daniela Hartmann-Ege, Didier Manning, Fanny Schubert, Michael Schlauch, Stefanie Lipps, Steffen Schmickler, Tom Srocke and Winfried Moser.

From the rest of the Bosch Group, we would like to thank Christoph Gahn (Office of the CEO), Julian Bartholomeyczik (Bosch Connected Devices and Solutions), Martin Dölfs (Bosch Rexroth), Olaf Klemd (Bosch), Peter Busch (Bosch), Rolf Nicodemus (Bosch), Silke Vogel (Bosch), Stefan Schuster (Bosch Connected Devices and Solutions), Sven Kappel (Bosch), Tapio Torikka (Bosch Rexroth), Thomas Wollinger (ESCRYPT), Thorsten Müller (Bosch Connected Devices and Solutions) and Tim Kornherr (Bosch ST).

For review and production support, we would like to extend our thanks to Sinéad Healy and Anne Molloy from Nova language solutions, Ruth Townsend, and especially Christiane Prager, without whom we would have had no chance of surviving this project.

And, finally, we would like to thank our friends and family for their support and patience.


Dirk Slama

Frank Puhlmann

Jim Morrish

Rishi Bhatnagar